Scotland is one of the four regions that join together to make the United Kingdom, along with Northern Ireland, Wales and England. The country was independent until the 1700, with the Act of Union. In 1997, Scotland was granted its own devolved parliament which sits across from the Palace of Holyrood in Edinburgh.

Major Cities Include:

  • Edinburgh
  • Glasgow
  • Inverness
  • Aberdeen
  • Dundee
  • Perth
  • Dumfries
  • Stirling

Scotland is the home of world famous inventors and the master poet; Robert Burns. The majority of the country speaks English, however the national language is Gaelic which is spoken by 1.1% of the country.

Already part of an Island, Scotland hosts a variety of landscapes and Islands with the furthest being: Shetland and Orkney.